About me

I am currently working as a postdoctoral Research Fellow for the NERP Environmental Decision Hub based at University of Melbourne. I joined QAECO in August 2012 and will be working together with Brendan Wintle in various projects related to spatial prioritization and conservation optimization under climate change. Before migrating to Australia I was based at the University of Helsinki, Finland, where I did my master thesis on protected area effectiveness in the Metapopulation Research Group (MRG). I then continued to do my PhD on uncertainties of doing conservation planning under climate change, during which I got involved with several aspects of climate change conservation: how do we observe changes in species distributions, validate modeled predictions or do robust conservation prioritization? During my years in Helsinki I was supervised by Dr. Mar Cabeza.

The main focus of my work has always been in systematic conservation planning and climate change. I am particularly interested in conservation optimization but also in bringing together different types of data to better understand what is really going on with this climate change business. I haven’t really specialized myself to any specific species or taxa, but somehow I often end up working with birds. I also spend way too much time in front of a computer than any self-respecting biologist should.

Leave a Reply

